BAYTOWN, Texas – The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series powers to Royal Purple Raceway for the 31st annual NHRA SpringNationals on April 20-22, giving the huge Texas fanbase an early-season glimpse of high-powered 10,000-horsepower, 330-mph action.

It is the first of two annual NHRA stops in the Lone Star State and the fifth of…

Read More


HOUSTON – In the final results from Royal Purple Raceway and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, Craig Bourgeois, Metairie, La., and Craig Gualtiere, Amarillo, Texas, took home the wins in Comp Eliminator and Super Stock respectively.

Bourgeois, worked his way through the field in his ’05 Nostalgia Dragster and ran 7.422 seconds at 130.57…

Read More

Further improvements on tap for Royal Purple Raceway’s NHRA SpringNationals, April 20-22

BAYTOWN, Texas (Feb. 6) — As workers race towards completing the recently announced track resurfacing and return road upgrades, Royal Purple Raceway General Manager Seth Angel announced Tuesday additional enhancements that should be eagerly received by spectators attending the upcoming 31st annual NHRA SpringNationals at the historic facility just east of Houston.

Forever looking for new ways…

Read More

Royal Purple Raceway to reopen March 2nd with new race surface

BAYTOWN, Texas (Jan. 29) — After five months of serving as a massive storage facility for tens of thousands of flooded cars in the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey, Royal Purple Raceway, site of the annual NHRA SpringNationals, will reopen March 2 with a brand-new race surface among many other facility upgrades and improvements.

“We’re very…

Read More

2018 NHRA SpringNationals Race Tickets Now On Sale

Tickets to the 2018 NHRA SpringNationals, April 20- 22, 2018, are now on sale to the public.  While many preferred seats were locked up for renewing race fans, there are still great seats available for those who didn’t get the opportunity to reserve their 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series experience.

Friday race tickets start as low…

Read More

2018 NHRA SpringNationals Daily Event Schedule

Royal Purple Raceway benefits from incredible atmospheric conditions because of its proximity to Trinity Bay, which feeds the facility cool air. The track’s first NHRA national event, in fall 1988, established RPR as one of the sport’s quickest with NHRA’s first four-second Top Fuel quarter-mile pass and a new national record. Since then, the track…

Read More

RPR Releases 2018 Race Schedule, NHRA SpringNationals return April 20-22, 2018

Baytown, TX- Royal Purple Raceway, Southeast Texas largest multi-purpose motorsports facility, announced its calendar of race events for the 2018 season.  The schedule is highlighted by the 31st Anniversary NHRA SpringNationals, April 20-22, 2018. NHRA race tickets go on sale next month.

TX2K, the Super Bowl of Street Car Racing, gets the race…

Read More

NHRA fans can offer their support to Hurricane Harvey victims







The affects of Hurricane/Tropical Storm Harvey have created unprecedented damage on Houston and other Gulf communities both in Texas and Louisiana. Members of the NHRA community can donate resources to those in the affected areas in a number of ways.


“When something as tragic…

Read More

Royal Purple Raceway suspends racing to help with hurricane relief efforts

BAYTOWN, Texas (Sept. 1) — Royal Purple Raceway, site of the annual NHRA SpringNationals, will suspend all drag racing activities through the end of the year to help in Hurricane Harvey relief efforts.

Utilizing its gigantic footprint in the Houston suburb of Baytown, Royal Purple Raceway will become a temporary storage facility for…

Read More

Darryl Patton Takes King of the Track Title, E.T. Bracket Racing Series Champions Crowned at Royal Purple Raceway

The 2017 Bayshore Chrysler Jeep Dodge RAM E.T. Bracket Racing Series crowned its Champions over the weekend:

Super Pro:  Hunter Patton  No Box:  Jason Patterson

Advanced Junior:  Arabella Maitland   Sportsman Junior:  Logan Abernathy

Summit King of the Track:  Daryl Patton

2017 Final Championship Point Standings:

 Super Pro Final No Box Final 1 Hunter…

Read More